COMP EDGE RACE

Posted: June 4, 2014 in Race Results

I had injured my arm at Oatfield a few weeks ago so I have been not able to ride so my arm could get better.  On Wednesday of last week I was feeling good and by Thursday I felt all better.

This last weekend we drove to LA for the Loretta qualifier race at Comp Edge.   Most of the riders had been there the week before the race practicing but I wasn’t able to do that so I knew I was going to have to pick up all the changes to the track on the practice day before the race.  I thought I would have a full day of practice, but I found out that each class only got 2 ten minute practice session on the track.  In the morning sessions, practice did not go well for me…..first my bike wouldn’t run because we had a jetting problem and then my chain broke.  It was frustrating that I didn’t get to ride on the track.  My Dad fixed my bikes and by the time the afternoon practice session came around my bikes were ready to go.  I knew I didn’t have much time to practice on the track and I went out riding really hard but the track was super rough.  I hit a kicker over a jump and crashed really hard breaking my throttle and giving me two black eyes, a bump on my head, and a bruise on my elbow.  It was a rough practice day because I only had about 2 laps around the track and tomorrow was race day.

This is the bump on my head and my black eyes

comp7

…and look what happened to my elbow

comp5

Race day I re-grouped and was ready to race.

comp6

65 Stock – In the first race I was a little off on the start and the track was very hard to pass on because there was really only one fast line around the track.  I finished the first race in 4th place.  In the second race I was charging to the front around the first few turns and I didn’t know that one of the riders in front of me crashed on the back side of a jump.  With no yellow flag out, I hit the jump and ended up landing right on the other kids bike and crashed.  By the time I got my bike up and started charging again I was pretty far back.  I ran down the bikes in front of me and was only .5 seconds from passing them but the race was shortened by a lap and I just missed the pass.  I ended up with a 6th place overall finish.

65 Open – In the first race I got pushed out in the start and was only able to battle up to sixth place.  In the second race I spun the tire on the start but I was still able to race down the start and by the first turn I was up to 4th.  A few times I tried to make the pass to third, but the track was super rough and it was really hard to go outside the main line to make a pass.  I finished the race in fourth….normally a 6-4 would give you a 4th or a 5th place overall finish.  Because the other kids I raced against all did good in one moto and bad in the other moto, all the top riders got completely shuffled around and I ended up with a 6th place overall finish.

It was a crazy weekend of not the best luck.  My Dad worked on my bikes a lot and by the end of the weekend he had my bikes totally dialed in.  I had figured out the track and was riding hard, but I didn’t have the results that showed that.  Lets hope for some luck at the next race.

comp4

Leave a Reply

