NATIONALS IN TENNESSEE (part 2 of 2) The Road To Loretta’s

Posted: August 9, 2013 in Dirt Bike, motocross, Pictures, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

On the 36 hour drive to Tennessee for the AMA Amateur Motocross Nationals at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch my parents and I did a little site seeing.

We drove 24 hours from Northern California, to Oklahoma City.  We stopped at Cadillac Ranch off Route 66, which is an art sculpture.  There is several cars coming out of the ground and people stop to spray paint the cars and become part of the art.  I wrote “71MX” on one of the cars and I also wrote “TENN BOUND CROSS71”.

321

After we painted the cars we continued to Oklahoma City.  My Grandparents who left California several days before my parents and I met us in Oklahoma City and we all went to the Oklahoma City Bombing Memorial site.  It was such a cool place and I learned a lot about the event and how it affected so many people.

654

We spent the night in Oklahoma and the next day we went the rest of the way to Tennessee.   My Dad and I wrestled in the pool and of course I won!

003

On the way from Oklahoma to Tennessee we stopped at the Memphis Zoo for a few hours.  It was so awesome.  The place was huge they had panda bears, I got to feed a giraffe, I got to ride a camel, I feed sting rays and sharks, we watched a seal show, and they have this really cool night exhibit with nocturnal animals…..we did a lot in a couple of hours.

1089

I was so excited to finally get to Loretta’s.  The next day we walked the track, signed into the event, and saw a lot of our friends and sponsors.  I took my report card to sign up for the Loretta Lynn’s Honor Roll and get my A+ stickers again this year.

121315

The next day was practice and the weather was perfect, not to hot.  Practice went well and then we went back to clean the bikes and get ready for the next day when racing starts.

16

The earlier post (part 1 of 2) gives the play by play (and pictures) of how each race went throughout the week.

The awards ceremony at the end of the week is really cool!  They give trophies to the top 10 riders in each class and the top three riders in each class get really cool sword trophies.

31

I was so excited that I finished in the top three so I was able to bring home the famous Loretta Lynn Championship Swords.

002

It was really cool that my Grandma and Grandpa drove all the way to Tennessee to watch me race.  My Dad keeps my bikes running and is always working on them.  My Mom did lots of driving and helped me with my gear each day.

14007006

After awards is was time for us to head back to California.  We had to drive straight home without stopping because my Dad had to go to work late Sunday night.  It was a lot of driving so we watched movies, I played xbox, and I slept…..sorry I couldn’t help drive Mom and Dad.  🙂

004

Now back home and back to practice and more racing!

Comments
  1. Candace Brown....KFC / TACO BELL OF WAVERLY says:

    WE LOVE HAVING YA VISIT US……

  2. Elyssa says:

    You guys looked like you had so much fun!

Leave a Reply

