2013 MOTOCROSS NATIONALS IN TENNESSEE (part 1 of 2)

Posted: August 7, 2013 in motocross, Pictures, Race Results, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

Last week was the AMA Amateur Motocross Nationals at Loretta Lynn’s Ranch in Tennessee.

This was my first race back after my broken arm.  I was for sure out of shape compared to the kids that have been riding and racing every week.  Half way through each race I could feel how out of shape I was, and I started making mistakes that I don’t think I would normally make.  I tried really hard to push through, but it was even more difficult with the track conditions.  Every day the track was completely different.

RACE 1 (65 Stock-Age) – In my first race I didn’t have the best start but I was able to fight to the front.  I went down and lost several spots and was able to finish in 4th place.

2013 LL 0032013 LL 015b2013 LL 152

race 2 (65 Open) – The next day I was in staging and it started to rain and thunder and lightning.  It did not rain like it does at home this was buckets and buckets of rain.  The road we parked on was flooded to our knees in some spots and the track announced that we needed to stay by our pits because we might have to evacuate.  It only rained for about 45 minutes but it did a lot of damage.  We had to wait for about five hours for them to take some of the mud off the top of the track.  Finally it was time to race but the track was totally a mess.  I started off so go and I was second out of the gate.  I got about half way around the track and my bike just stopped and I was thrown over the handle bars.  I quickly got up and started my bike to get back in the race but my bike wouldn’t go.  I tried and tried but I had gotten a rock stuck in my chain and my chain was broken.  I didn’t finish the race.

202013 LL 1602013 LL 165

race 3 (65 Stock-Age) – Although it didn’t rain anymore, the track the next day was almost more muddy than the day before.  I guess the water truck got stuck in the mud so instead of watering the track we rode on the day before the tractors moved the wet mud back on top of the track.  I had a really bad start in this race and was in 27th place in the beginning.  I rode all the way up to 1st.  With two laps left I made a mistake and went down which moved me back to 10th place.  I got up and was only able to get to 6th place before the checkered flag.  As soon as the race was over I quickly took off my shirt because I was being stung by a wasp while I was riding.  I had 3 stings on my chest and stomach…it hurt so bad!

232625

race 4 (65 Open) – Because my chain broke in the last 65 Open race I had the last gate pick.  I basically had to start in the line that no other rider wanted. lol  I was in 25th on the first lap and moved to 10th place when my front tire slide out and I went down.  Some strange thing happened to my helmet and my visor was stuck bent down covering my eyes.  Because I couldn’t see I had to go a little slower and I lost several spots before the end of the race.

2013 LL 2455128

race 5 (65 Stock-Age) – The track was finally getting better and it was turning into a dry and rough track.  I didn’t have the best start again but I battled up to 5th place.  My Dad was giving me signals that let me know if I finished in 5th I would be in the 3rd place overall position in this class.  Even if I passed more bikes I couldn’t change my overall position so I backed off and rode smart to make sure I didn’t make any mistakes and I was able to finish up the class with an overall 3rd place finish.

2013 LL 0034055

race 6 (65 Open) – I was in staging to start the last race and it again, out of nowhere, started to rain with thunder and lightning.  The track was turning into a really big muddy mess again but because they were getting ready to go live on NBC, they couldn’t do much to the track.  A lot of kids in my class that didn’t do good in the first two races decided not to even race in the last race.  Like all the other riders from California, we never ride when there is even a chance of rain so I was excited to race in the mud and see what it was like.  I couldn’t believe how hard it was to ride in the mud…. everyone was falling and it turned into a last man standing competition.  When I fell my bike was so stuck in the mud that a worker had to help me pull it out of the mud.  I used tons of tear offs and still couldn’t see through all the mud that was flying around.  I did really bad, I think I need more practice riding in the mud.  If any of you watched the race on NBC, I was the class that raced right in front of the one the aired on TV so that was the exact same track I rode on.

2013 LL 3192930

Earlier this year my goal was to win at Nationals.  Then I broke my arm and I wasn’t going to be able to go to Nationals at all.  I got my arm better and was able to go at the last minute so I was very happy to be able to go to Tennessee and pull out a top 3 finish.  I am ready to get back to practice and start working on next year.

32

.

More information coming soon about the Loretta Lynn Amateur Nationals, awards and sights along the way.

001

Leave a Reply

