10 RACES – 2 STATES – 2 DAYS

Posted: April 24, 2012 in Race Results, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , ,

This weekend was super busy!  First we drove to Milford Nevada to race the Loretta Lynn Area Qualifier.  I had never been to Honey Lake MX track before and I was excited to see what it was like.  The track is right off Highway 395 and it is basically a track that goes all around the hills.  The turns were super sandy, some big and fast jumps and of course hills.  I took a hard crash in practice and hurt my foot, but after some rest it started to feel better and I was able to go by race time.

This Loretta Lynn qualifier was really big for a few reasons….(1) This was a qualifier race for both North and South divisions. (2) The Northern Regional qualifier race will be at this track so even if you have already qualified for the North at a different track you want to practice on this track for the Regional. (3) Most of the previous qualifiers have been on the same weekend as big National races when a lot of riders were not around to race.  I raced 65 7-9 Stock and 85 9-11 Stock and the kids that raced at Loretta’s last year were racing with me.  I was really excited to race and see how I could match up.

In the first 65 race I got hit by two riders in a turn and we all went down.  I got back up and battled all the way back up to 5th place…..On the last lap I got a flat rear tire but I continued to ride hard and I was able to hold on to my 5th place finish.  In the second 65 race I was able to stay up, I came out of the first turn in 8th and by the end I had almost caught the second place rider and finished in 3rd.  We had some really fun battles and raced really hard on a very rough track.  I finished the race in 3rd place and took an overall 3rd place for the day.

In the second 65 race I would say I came out of the first turn in 8th by the end I almost caught the second place rider

In both my 85 races I again had really good battles and had a ton of fun, but in both my races my rear brakes got too hot and stopped working.  It was really hard to race the track without brakes, but I was able to pull off a 12th and 9th place finishes with kids up to 12 years old.

After the races we drove home from Nevada and got home at Midnight.  We woke up Sunday morning at 6am and headed to Argyll MX in Dixon to race the CMC race.  We didn’t get to practice with everyone on Saturday and the track was completely different from the last time I rode on it, but I was excited to try to race.  I was racing 65 Intermediate, 65 Open and I moved up on my 85 to 85 Novice.

In my first 65 race as soon as I left the line my bike did not have much power.  I finished the race the best I could but my bike was not running right and I was only able to finish in 3rd.  My Dad worked on the bike and found out that I had a torn power valve, he was able to fix it for the next races.  The next three 65 races I didn’t get the hole shots but I was able to battle to the front and finish all three races in 1st place.  I took an overall 1st and 2nd.

In my first 85 race I was able to pull off a 3rd place finish.  In my second 85 race I fell on the second lap and I was able to pick up my bike and get back going.  (can you believe I got my bike up…it was sooo heavy.) I finished the second race in 5th place which gave me a 4th place overall finish.

Saturday in Nevada (Loretta Lynn Qualifier Race)

  • 65 7-9 Stock           3rd Place
  • 85 9-11 Stock         9th Place

Sunday in California (CMC Spring Series Race)

  • 65 Intermediate       2nd Place
  • 65 Open                   1st Place
  • 85 Novice                4th Place
Comments
  1. elyssa says:

    wow bro! good job! you are kicking butt! keep working hard. hopefully I get to see a race soon.

Leave a Reply

