ROAD TO MAMMOTH QUALIFIER

Posted: April 4, 2012 in motocross, Race Results, Uncategorized
Tags: ,

The ROAD TO MAMMOTH began back in 1968 when a group of riders built a track 8,000 feet up in the Sierra Nevada Mountain range.  Every summer racers qualify for a chance to race the Mammoth Mountain classic event, the oldest continuous running motocross event in the USA.  Many of the top racers in the world have honed their skills at this event and staged some epic battles….Riders like Ricky Carmichael, Jeremy McGrath, Steve Lamson, Kevin Windham, James Stewart, Mike Bell, Donny Hansen and many more. It also become one of the major amateur events in the country as well. You can see the factory riders of tomorrow racing in the mini classes at Mammoth.

This last weekend I went back to Los Angeles to race the Road to Mammoth Qualifier at Lake Elsinore.  This was my first time back riding since I took a break with my elbow almost a month ago.  I was so excited to get back on my dirt bike.

We got to my Uncles house early saturday morning and had a couple of hours of sleep before it was time to go to the track for practice.  Saturday practice went well and I had so much fun.  I felt like I was a little out of shape and a little rusty but I think I did pretty good.  After practice we went back to my Uncles house and I played XBox with my cousin, it was so fun.

I went back to the track early Sunday morning to get ready to race.  The track conditions were really different from anything I usually ride on.  They didn’t water the track very much and it didnt hold up very well.  The braking bumps were huge and turned into whoops going into the turn.  The turns became very hard packed and slick like ice and most of the turns were totally flat with no rutts.  The entire track was so dry that during one of my races I couldn’t see the rider in front of me because it was too dusty.

All day my starts were a little off so I had to race for position which was difficult on this track.  In my first 65 race I was able to fight to the front and pull out the 1st place win.  In the second 65 race I was again able to fight back to first but then I made a mistake.  Because we raced the younger class in the second gate behind the older class, some of us younger kids caught up to the older class.  As I was battling through traffic and sliding around the track I went down.  I got back up and wasnt able to catch back up to the leader and finished the day with 2nd place overall finish.

My 85 race was also a little difficult because the track was so loose but I did good.  The class is 9-11 and they had some really fast (and big) kids in the class.  Both races were really fun and we had some good battles and I was able to finish the day with no falls and a 7th place trophy.

In the 65 class the top 5 riders qualify and in the 85 class the top 9 riders qualify……..so I am now officially qualified in both classes.  YA

Leave a Reply

