CROSS-COUNTRY

Posted: October 14, 2011 in motocross, Uncategorized
Tags:

I am trying all kinds of new things this week….first fishing and now a cross-country race.  My Dad asked me if I wanted to try a cross-country race, and I thought I would see what it was like.  When we got there I couldn’t believe how many people were there, it was a huge race.  I got my gear on while my Dad signed me in.  I lined up at a chalk line next to the track and waited for the horn to blow.  When they blew the horn, we had to start our bikes and then take off.  I got my bike started fast and took off, but I didn’t have any idea what to expect.  We took off into the trails and we rode over some rocks and branches and several single track sections.  On my first lap I was trying to figure out the route and how to get around different things on the ground that I am not used to seeing.  My bike kicked over a branch and went to far sideways to save and I fell.  I was not able to get my bike started and the sweeper came by to help and he couldn’t get my bike started either.  After I tried a few more times, it finally started and I was back in the race.

I rode for an hour and the race was over.  It was really hard to know how you finish because so many different classes go at the same time.  I know I didn’t do very well because I fell, but it was really fun to try something new.  It is defiantly a different kind of racing.  My Dad was nervous because he could only see me for a couple of seconds about every twenty minutes.  The whole experience is not what we are used to, but we had a lot of fun.

The next day I decided to go back to what I am used to…..the motocross track.  I went to practice at Hangtown.  Things went much better at practice and I was so excited to be on the motocross track.  My Mom and Dad and both my sisters and Nick all came out to watch me ride.  After practice we went out to lunch and I played with Nick.

Comments
  1. OURBUGLIFE says:

    So proud of you for trying something new little man! Keep up all of your hard work, it will keep paying off.

Leave a Reply

