SATURDAY RACE UPDATE

Posted: August 1, 2011 in motocross, Race Results, Uncategorized
Tags: , ,

Saturday I went to 408MX and practiced a little in the morning and then raced the night race.  Practice went really well, I found some fast lines and had fun riding with my friends. 

In both of my 65 races I got the hole shot and was able to stay out front for the whole race and finish in 1st.   It was really fun to get out front and ride my race without having to battle through any traffic and stay in front.

In my 85 race I had a few more challenges.  They combined the 85cc bikes and the 150cc bikes in the same race.  At the start one of the other bikes hit me and came into my lane and I had to let off the gas to avoid going down.  Around the first few turns I worked my way up to fourth and had two of the 15occ bikes in front of me.  I was able to pass the first one jumping over one of the triples and work on catching the next bike.  A lap and a half later I was right behind the next 150cc and working hard to make a pass.  I was faster than him, but it was really hard to make a pass.  His bike was faster in the straight lines, and I was faster in the turns and we battled back and forth.  I again used the same triple to jump over him and going into the turn after the jump he slid over into me and I got pushed over the burm and took a really hard crash.  With my back hurting and my bike a mess, I was not able to finish the race.

My Dad was able to get my bike fixed enough for me to race in the second 85cc race.  I had a much better start, but was still behind the two 150cc bikes.  I got right around the first bike, but then found myself right behind the same bike that I crashed with earlier.  I chased him down and stayed really close to him waiting for a good time to pass.  Coming around for the next lap, he doubled the finish line jump and I tripled over the top of him and was able to get in front of him.  It was such a great battle to try to find a way around him and be able to make the pass.

I ended the night with a 1st place trophy and some cool hole shot awards including an awesome Fox hat.

Comments
  1. g & g says:

    wow sounds like a great race. way to go Hunter. !!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

