CHICO RACE REPORT

Posted: October 11, 2010 in Race Results, Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

October 10th was the CMC race at Chico Cycleland.  We went to Chico Friday night, practiced all day Saturday and raced Sunday.  The Chico race track is not like most tracks I race on.  At Chico it is much slower and tighter than I am used to, more like a supercross track than a motocross track.

The first three races of the day went great, (50cc age, 50cc open, and 65cc age)!  I started all three of these races in first or second and was able to finish all three in 1st place.

Round two was a little more difficult. 

I started the second 50cc open race in first place and my front tire slid out in one of the turns.  Because of the slop of the turn, I had a hard time getting my bike back up.  Once I got it up I was in 5th place and really far behind the leader.  I rode the last three laps as fast as I could and was able to finish in 2nd place.

The second race in the 50cc age class started even worse.  Because I broke the radiator on my bike when I fell in the previous race, I had to switch bikes for the next race.  The second bike was set up a little different and when the gate dropped the bike went out of control.  I tried to stay on the gas and ride out of it, but the bike was cutting from side to side and I just bumped another rider and I went down.  By the time I got the bike up and got it re-started, I was very far in last place.  With a six lap race, I rode as hard as I could and by lap 4 I was in 1st place.  I was able to go from last to 1st and finish up with a win.

The last race of the day was 65cc age, and I started this race out with a hole shot.  I was in the lead and can you believe I slid out in a different turn.  Because I can’t reach the ground on my 65 I had to wait for someone to help me start my bike and of course I was at the farthest turn.  My Hailey, Mom, Dad and our friend Jerry ran the whole track to get me up as fast as they could.  I was up and running again, but now I was in last place.  I road really hard and pulled out a 1st place.  I couldn’t believe I was able to catch everyone and win.  I knew I wasn’t going to give up, but it was really cool to be able to still come in 1st.

Leave a Reply

